‘Mad’ Mad Ad World

After finishing Battlestar Galactica and Orange is the New Black (which I really liked) I have been looking for a Netflix show to start while I wait for the long list of fall shows I watch to come back on the air/start. Last night I decided to start Mad Men because besides hearing great things about it, the 1960’s is one of my absolute favorite time periods.

Starting a show late means inevitably things are going to be spoiled for you. However, going into Mad Men I only knew a few thing:

1. Don Draper is a man whore womanizer who also has a family. I believe his wife eventually divorces him

2. Joan is hot

3. The current season of the show takes place in the 70’s and Peggy isn’t a secretary, but has a part in the agency (I think?)

4. It  has won a lot of awards

The first episode I really liked because it was everything I was expecting it to be. Don Draper is smooth and always finds a way to get the job done. Some of the guys are downright sleazy. Everyone smokes way too much. The only thing I was not expecting was the way in which Joan helps Peggy (and in some case the viewer) assimilate into this new world. It’s so refreshing to see woman helping each other, rather than backstabbing (or at least that hasn’t happened yet). I like how the women know how to work the system and use whatever they have to their advantage. I feel like going forward that is going to play a big part in the series as will the changing times. I love watching a TV show that takes me to a different time and place. Even more so than shows like Battlestar Galactic, I like shows with real history that use costumes and music to tell a story as much as they use characters. If I can’t live in the 1960’s, at least let me watch it. 

And while I don’t think I’ll catch up to the current season any time soon (I am slow binge watcher), I do enjoy finally starting one of those shows everyone watches since I have long found myself on the outside not having watched Breaking BadGame of ThronesDexter or many of the other shows my friends and the people I follow on twitter seem so obsessed with. So while late, I think it’s finally time to hop on a bandwagon and see what all the hype is about.

As of 1.1:

Favorite character: Peggy (There’s more to her than meets the eye)

Least favorite character: Pete (He’s sleazy)

“I like this show” moment: Last scene of the episode with this song

Leave a Reply

