Oscar Nomination Reactions: The Only Thing I Really Care About is Leo Holding that Gold Man

What a better way to start my first post of the new year then by discussing one of my favorite things: Oscar nominations. Same as my post on the Golden Globes, maybe with less coherent/intelligent things to say because I still haven’t seen Nebraska ( I probably won’t), American Hustle (want to see just to understand the hype), Her (really really want to see),  Saving Mr. Banks (does that even matter any more?), and 12 Years a Slave (I know, I know, I’m working on it). I don’t go all crazy making predictions and placing bets like everyone else, I usually just keep track on my own index card  on the day of who I think might win. The last 2 years I’ve gotten around half right and that’s made me plenty happy without having to justify why I think something might win. Also, it’s really hard for me not to pull for certain favs regardless of the odds (*cough cough* Leo).

So without further ado…here we go.

Best Picture

American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
Gravity
Her
Nebraska
Philomena
12 Years a Slave
The Wolf of Wall Street

*No surprises here, just a little sad Inside Llewyn Davis wasn’t nominated like everyone else

Best Actor

Christian Bale, American Hustle
Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street-SO HAPPY TO HAVE JUST TYPED THOSE WORDS 
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club-I’m suddenly very scared by this man and the fact that he could take an Oscar away from Leo. And I never thought I’d see the day where I that would happen

*Let’s be real this is basically the only category I really care about. Oh and where’s Hanks? 

Best Actress

Amy Adams, American Hustle
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Sandra Bullock, Gravity
Judi Dench, Philomena
Meryl Streep, August: Osage County-It’s Meryl so I’m not surprised, but at the same time I kind of am

*No Emma Thomas? Looks like Saving Mr. Banks is losing some steam like I thought it would

Best Supporting Actor

Barhad Abdi, Captain Phillips-What a year this guy is having, good for him
Bradley Cooper, American Hustle
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave-Michael “I’m not campaigning but man do I look good in a tux” Fassbender ladies and gentlemen 
Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street-I never thought I’d say this, but good for you Jonah, you deserve it
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club-I really think this is Leto’s to lose, but we could be surprised

Best Supporting Actress

Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle -Will the Academy prove they love J. Law as much as the HFPA and the internet?
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave -Is it horrible that the only thing I’m thinking about is what she’ll wear? She killed it at the Globes
Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
June Squibb, Nebraska 

*Happy to not see Oprah’s name on here just because she’s Oprah

Best Director 

David O. Russell, American Hustle -I don’t know why, but I really don’t want to like him as a person even if I do enjoy his films
Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity -All the way back with Prisoner of Azkaban I knew you had it in you
Alexander Payne, Nebraska
Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street-Man have you still got it Marty

Best Animated Feature

The Croods
Despicable Me 2-My dad will be mad when DM2 doesn’t win, it was his favorite movie of the year
Ernest & Celestine-What?
Frozen-Why haven’t I seen this yet??
The Wind Rises– Usually I’m team Pixar/Disney, but this year my heart belongs to Hayao Miyazaki and his last film ever

*Again no love for Monsters University??

Best Foreign Feature

The Broken Circle Breakdown (Belgium)
The Great Beauty (Italy)
The Hunt (Denmark)
The Missing Picture (Cambodia)
Omar (Palestine)

*I really need to watch more foreign films. I still need to see A Separation. 

Best Original Screenplay

David O. Russell and Eric Singer, American Hustle
Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine
Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack, Dallas Buyers Club
Spike Jonze, Her
Bob Nelson, Nebraska-I’m honestly surprised to see Nebraska getting so many nominations, then again I haven’t seen it

Best Adapted Screenplay

Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke, Richard Linklater, Before Midnight
Billy Ray, Captain Phillips 
Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope, Philomena
John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave
Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street-I really want to read the book because I can’t even imagine there is crazier stuff they left out. Must have been a fun script to write though, I wonder if Winter put in all those F-bombs

Best Music (Original Score)

John Williams, The Book Thief
Steven Price, Gravity
William Butler and Owen Pallett, Her-I really really want to listen to this soundtrack, but I’m trying to be patient and wait until I see the movie. It’s not working because ARCADE FIRE
Alexandre Desplat, Philomena-Love this man
Thomas Newman, Saving Mr. Banks

*Wow no Hans Zimmer? 

Best Music (Original Song)

“Alone Yet Not Alone”, Bruce Broughton (Alone Yet Not Alone)-Umm what?
“Happy”, Pharrell Williams (Despicable Me 2)-I can never get this song out of my head so I guess that makes it good?
“Let It Go”, Robert Lopez & Kristen Anderson-Lopez (Frozen)
“The Moon Song”, Karen O  (Her)-Don’t want to spoil any of the movie by listening to the music, but I really can’t wait to hear this song. I love what Karen O did with “Immigrant Song” in The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo 
“Ordinary Love”, U2 (Mandela: The Long Walk Home)

Best Cinematography

Philippe Le Sourd, The Grandmaster-I have not heard of this film until this moment
Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity
Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis-Oh there you are ILD
Phedon Papamichael, Nebraska 
Roger Deakins, Prisoners-Always nice to see Deakins here, his work is incredible

Best Costume Design

American Hustle-I have a feeling this may win
The Grandmaster-Seriously, where did this film come from?
The Great Gatsby-I’m a sucker for the 1920’s so I’m partial to Gatsby, but I also think the costumes had a modern flair with an old school style which I enjoyed. Plus the jewelry was to die for
The Invisible Woman-Another one I haven’t heard of
12 Years a Slave

Best Documentary Feature

The Act of Killing-After reading what this film is about I really want to watch, good thing it’s on Netflix
Cutie and the Boxer-Everyone keeps talking about this film and it just doesn’t sound good to me. Maybe I should just watch it?
Dirty Wars
The Square-Streams on Netflix starting today and I’ve been looking forward to this one for awhile so it will be watched this weekend
20 Feet from Stardom

Best Documentary Short

“CaveDigger”
“Facing Fear”
“Karma Has No Walls”
“The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life”
“Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall”

 *This is one of those categories I blindly guess on/see what other people have to say about it and just go along with them

Best Film Editing

American Hustle
Captain Phillips-Great use of editing in this film but…
Dallas Buyers Club
GravityIf I was a betting person, I would put my money on Gravity
12 Years a Slave 

Best Visual Effects

Gravity-I would be surprised if Gravity didn’t take all/most of the tech awards 
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Iron Man 3
The Lone Ranger
Star Trek Into Darkness

*This is always one of those rare categories where movies people have actually seen can end up winning something. Except Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 which couldn’t win anything. 

Best Sound Editing

All is Lost 
Captain Phillips
Gravity
The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug-I don’t know why, but typing out that title makes it sound really dumb
Lone Survivor

Best Sound Mixing

Captain Phillips
Gravity
The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug
Inside Llewyn Davis
Lone Survivor

*This is one of those categories I’m going to have trouble picking a winner for because I think they’re all equally good

Best Make-Up & Hair Styling

Dallas Buyers Club-I guess I’m going with this one now for Jared Leto
Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa-Wow did not see that one coming
The Lone Ranger Lone Ranger?? I guess Johnny’s make-up counts, but I feel like anything else could go here

*I thought there was no way American Hustle would not be here and just realized I was wrong. From the trailers alone I can tell the hair needs to be nominated, plus all those jokes Tina and Amy made and the annoying people on the red carpet asking Bradley Cooper questions like, “Where are your rollers tonight?” at the Golden Globes

Best Production Design

American Hustle 
Gravity     
The Great Gatsby-I don’t know why but I would like to see Gatsby win something and I feel like this should be it
Her
12 Years a Slave 

Best Short Film (Animated)

“Feral”
“Get a Horse!”
“Mr. Hublot”
“Possessions”
“Room on a Broom”

*I got nothing

Best Short Film (Live Action)

“Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)”
“Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)”
“Helium”
“Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)”
“The Voorman Problem”

*See above comment
So now we wait and debate and moan about who was snubbed and who will win. I’m going to try to sneak in more movie watching between now and March 2nd. Thank goodness they’re re-releasing 12 Years a Slave. And I guess I should get around to seeing American Hustle too just to see what all the fuss is about.
2 thoughts on “Oscar Nomination Reactions: The Only Thing I Really Care About is Leo Holding that Gold Man

  1. Brittani says:

    I agree with so many of your comments! I want Leo to have that statue so bad. I’m a little afraid of McConaughey taking it from him too. I’m also glad Oprah (and The Butler) were left out. I really need to see Nebraska now too, I keep dragging my feet. That and Philomena.

Leave a Reply

