40 Days of Blogging: 12 Meaningful Albums

For day 3 of my 40 Days of Blogging I have gotten inspiration from (of all places) Facebook. Several of my friends have been posting lists of the 12 albums that are most meaningful to them. The rule is to think of the first albums that come to you head and to not over think it. So in no particular order here is my list with one sentence reasons why I choose each album.

1. For Emma, Forever Ago- Bon Iver

The easiest choice and one of my favorite albums of all time no matter my mood.

 

 

 

 

2. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Heart’s Club Band- The Beatles

My favorite Beatles album because of the selection of songs and the way each blends into the next.

 

 

 

 

3. The Sound of the Smiths- The Smiths

Having my dad introduce me to the Smiths changed my life basically because Morrissey is my spirit animal.

 

 

 

 

4. Greatest Hits Volumes I & II- Billy Joel 

I have so many memories of singing and dancing along to Billy Joel in my kitchen with my mom.

 

 

 

 

5. Sigh No More- Mumford & Sons

This album began my love affair with folk.

 

 

 

 

 

6. Reflektor- Arcade Fire

Since this album’s release I have listened to very little else and I regret nothing.

 

 

 

 

 

7. Lungs- Florence + the Machine 

I make my own music video in my head for every song on this album because it’s so evocative.

 

 

 

 

8. Let Go- Avril Lavigne 

The album that perfectly described my preteen angst. 

 

 

 

 

 

9. The Blessed Unrest- Sara Bareilles 

This album is one of the many albums that helped me get through my recent break-up.

 

 

 

 

 

10. Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix- Phoenix

 If this album is playing there is a 98% that I am dancing or at least waving my hands in the air like I just don’t care.

 

 

 

 

11.  Greatest Hits (1981)- Queen 

I have a lot of memories associated with this album from Habitat to Humanity builds to car rides with my family.

 

 

 

 

12. Moulin Rogue! Soundtrack- Various Artists 

One of my favorite soundtracks from one of my favorite films because of the way it uses popular music in totally new ways.

 

 

 

I would love to know, what are the 12 albums that impacted your life?

Leave a Reply

