Movie Talk on Sunday: Spoilers

Sunday is usually the suckiest day of the week because Monday follows, but Sundays for me are pretty awesome because of a little thing on twitter called #MTOS. MTOS stands for  “Movie Talk on Sunday.” At 8 PM GMT (4 PM EST aka my time), a bunch of super cool, passionate film fans get together and discuss the topic of the week which is chosen by a blogger who also hosts the talk and tweets out the questions. There are 10 questions and people tweet their answers using #MTOS to follow the conversation. I have met some of my favorite twitter peeps from participating and even hosted myself once upon a time. This week, it was about one of my favorite topics, spoilers, and was hosted by @VoxPopple. From the tweets I’ve been reading, it looks like it was a doozy of a discussion. Unfortunately, I could not participate because I was grocery shopping so I thought I could use today’s 40 Days of Blogging post to share my answers. (I’ll keep them short and sweet since they’re supposed to be 140 characters to begin with.) The original (and very funny) post with the questions can be found here, but I have also copied and pasted them.

Q1. Those who cry “spoiler”: are they cry babies, or do they have a legitimate grievance? #MTOSQ

A1. It depends. If you’re on twitter the night of a show’s finale and you’re not caught up, then shame on you. People shouldn’t spoil things, but there’s always that one person who will. Protect yourself.

Q2. Does the tendency to avoid spoilers in discussion limit good film discussion? #MTOS

A2. I guess it depends on the film. I try to be very careful about the things I say when writing about a film and tag spoilers if I really want to talk about something, like the film’s ending, at length. But it definitely can be done without, film reviewers do it all the time.

Q3. Without actually tweeting the spoiler (!) what film(s) was/were spoiled for you? Did it affect your enjoyment of the film? #MTOS

A3. The Sixth Sense was spoiled for me by 50 First Dates. But I still haven’t seen it so I’m not sure how it will affect me once I watch it. Maybe that’s how it’s affected me: I’m not running to watch it. Same with Shutter Island. 

Q4. I remember seeing Planet of the Apes, twist intact. What classic twist film do you remember seeing unspoiled? #MTOS

Fight Club is my favorite movie of all time because I HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN. There are actually some I’m thinking of for this one that when I watched I didn’t know there would be a twist ending so I don’t want to be the one to say there is one. (Sometimes saying a film has a spoiler is a spoiler itself, you know?)

Q5. Is there a statute of limitations on discussing twists? Should we be able to tweet without warning about twists from the ’20s? #MTOS

I like being able to see old movies and still not know what’s going to happen, but at the same time I wouldn’t be mad at someone for spoiling an old movie for me because that’s on me for not seeing it sooner. I mean old as in 20’s, 30’s. 80’s is where it gets a little iffy for me because I don’t consider those super old. I’m not saying people should be going around tweeting spoilers for old films and yelling them from the rooftops, but if they’re cited in other things or are casually mentioned I think it’s okay. It’s all about the intention.

Q6. If you answered yes to the last, why? If no, can we agree on a simple warning system? #MTOS

Saying “spoiler” is enough. Although someone did that on twitter the other day and I still saw the ending of All Is Lost. Sometimes I can’t help but keep reading. I also never look for spoilers. They always find me. Always.

Q7. I feel recent trailers show too much, spoil too many plot developments. Which trailers do you actively seek out or avoid? #MTOS

Chris Nolan films. I plan on avoiding Interstellar spoilers like the plague. With directors like him it’s more fun not to see what’s coming. I walked out of the theater when they played The Dark Knight Rises previews because I wanted a pure final viewing experience.

Q8. I’ve found film viewing more rewarding since not watching trailers so much. Has anyone else found this? #MTOS

Absolutely. See my response to question 7. For the most part though I don’t think watching trailers spoils too much unless it’s a comedy film where all the good jokes are in the trailer. Plus I find it really hard to avoid trailers because I really really love watching them.

Q9. Does using existing film music in trailers work? Does it detract from that original film? #MTOS

I love hearing music I know in trailers. There’s just something about a trailer with good, catchy music that makes me really excited. And if the trailer is good enough it will absorb me no matter what.

Q10. Some trailers do get it right without spoiling the film. What’s your definition of a good trailer? Links to favourite trailers! #MTOS

I don’t remember much about the film, but the trailer to Where the Wild Things Areis one of my absolute favorites. Inspirational words, a cute kid, giant stuffed animal like creatures come to life, plus Arcade Fire? Perfection.

I love (and actively seek out) trailers for the books I’ve read and loved. I sobbed while watching the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II trailer because I knew it was the last one I would ever see and because of all the flashbacks to the previous movies. In this case, if you’re worried about spoilers, I will quote John Stewart and say:

(You avoid spoilers especially well that way.)

I hope I can participate in next week’s MTOS because it really is my favorite part of twitter! And if you’re reading this and have never joined in, what the hell are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

