A Little More Personal: Because I’m Happy

Today is Friday and my first 40 Days of Blogging double digits day post (try saying that 5 times fast). I’ve been really enjoying writing, although it’s been a much bigger undertaking than I initially thought it would be. Today I wanted to use my post to take a minute to appreciate the things that made me happy this week. In my real life I spend too much time complaining and I’m really trying to change that.

5.) Sunshine!

It’s amazing what a boost a sunny day can give to a mood. I sat outside not once, but TWICE this week. I even went for a run. Outside. In this winter that feels like it will never end, I’ll take what I can get.

4.) I finally watched a movie

It’s been awhile since I’ve watched a movie because I’ve been too busy binging on shows. The crazy thing is, I’m all caught up now. Mostly because I haven’t decided what new show to start (I’m torn between Top of the Lake, Veronica Mars, and The Wire among others). While I love the fact that there is so much good TV out there, nothing can really compare to the feeling of watching a film you’ve never seen before.

3.) BBC Radio 1 Live Lounge Covers

What’s better than famous artists covering songs by other famous artists? Nothing I tell you. Nothing.

The 1975 covering One Direction’s “That’s What Makes You Beautiful”

Haim covering Beyonce’s “XO”

2.) People are reading my blog

The more I write, the more people read. Who knew?? I’m very happy with all the support I’ve been getting for this 40 Days of Blogging project. It makes it easier to keep going. So if you’re reading this, thank you!

1.) Having things to be thankful for

The main thing I am happy about this week is the reminder I got today of how lucky I am. I have big plans and even bigger dreams and even more than that I have people who are willing to support me. And I don’t mean for this blog to get sappy, but sometimes I forget just how lucky I am. I admit that since graduating college things have not been easy. I have been stuck, confused, angry, and sad. But then I remember I have also made some incredible new friends, gotten to experience things I never could have imagined (like working on the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade), and I have been able to spend some quality time with my family that I would never trade for anything. And those are all things to be pretty damn thankful about.

Leave a Reply

