A Little More Personal: California Girl

It has been a little over a  month since my big move from New York to California. (If you want to read more about my roadtrip to get here and all the adventures along the way check out my short lived travel blog.)

It still feels so surreal, most days I can’t believe I’m actually here. Besides London and Paris, Los Angeles is a place I have dreamed about visiting for most of my life. And now I’m living here. And by living I mean couchsurfing because I don’t have an actual place of my own yet. All of my clothes are in the trunk of my car. I get dressed by the side of the road half the time and I’m pretty sure that everyone in the neighborhood thinks I’m homeless. (They wouldn’t be wrong.) But when I’m not freaking out about my lack of place to live and getting spammed by Craigslist creeps, I’m appreciating how lucky I am to have friends that will take in both me AND my roommate and a good chunk of our stuff. It’s been an adventure not only working, but also bouncing from place to place.

And yes, you read that right: I have been working! Not all the time/everyday, but enough to keep me happy and eating (which keeps me happy). I worked on the Muscular Dystrophy Telethon which will air in August and was the first show I have worked on for a really great cause. I also got to see Fall Out Boy perform and the 7th grader inside of me was very excited. I did one day on a dating game show pilot. And this past week has been the American Idol finale and preparations for next season. This upcoming week should see some time for me on the Last Comic Standing finale. It sounds cliche, but I do feel so #blessed for all of the opportunities I have had for work out here so far. As one of my friends put it:

“In order to get a job in L.A. you have to be here. You can’t sit in NY thinking about it, you just up and do it. And hope for the best and in your guys case so far so good.”

He’s right! And he’s a big reason my roommate and I came out here in the first place and the reason we had a place to live for a little while and jobs. I spent so much of my time saying “what if?” and for once in my life I am finally finding out.

Sure there have been bad days. I’ll admit I cried on set.  A lot of people saw the puffy faced aftermath. I had to call my mom from a bathroom stall. I still don’t have a place to live or a permanent job or a date of when I will go home next. I miss my family and friends immensely. But I also really love it here. The good days are really good. I have new (mostly fellow production assistant) friends. I have gone hiking almost every weekend and I have gone to the beach twice and only gotten really badly sunburned one of those times. I am finding my way around places. I am learning to drive like everyone else which is to say crazily, but safely.  I thank my lucky stars for all the time I spent on the Long Island Expressway because as much as I hate that highway with all my being, it prepared me for the traffic and the assholes. (The “He who hesitates is lost” rule my dad always preaches is definitely in effect when driving ANYWHERE in L.A.)

crazy animated GIF

Don’t ask me why everyone drives so crazy in L.A. or why there is SO MUCH TRAFFIC ALL THE TIME. There are a lot of things about this place that confuse me. Like why every town has streets with the same name. There is an Alameda Street and an Olive Ave and a Beverly Boulevard EVERYWHERE. I don’t know how people get anywhere or end up in the same place. Other things I find funny about this place? How everyone (or almost everyone I’ve met) has a script in progress. Or the fact that I’ve done more juice runs than Starbucks runs. Or that there no Dunkin Donuts and the only places you can get “a slice” are New York style pizzerias and people there haven’t heard of things like Buffalo chicken pizza. Believe me, I could go on all day about the east coast/west coast divide.

For now, however, I am just taking it one day at a time and trying to let it all sink in. There are still so many things I want to do (like go to the LACMA and Griffith Park Observatory and the El Capitan theater) and food I want to try (like every taco truck and Korean BBQ) and shows I want to work on (like Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D and Top Chef and the Emmy Awards) so it looks like I am here to stay (for the time being). If you want to imagine what I am doing between this post and my next one picture me scouring Craigslist for an apartment, waiting for game 7 to see who my NY Rangers will be facing in the Stanley Cup, and working my butt off to find the next gig (and the next gig and the gig after that).

Until then, here’s another California post ending song:

3 thoughts on “A Little More Personal: California Girl

  1. ladylavinia1932 says:

    Don’t ask me why everyone drives so crazy in L.A. or why there is SO MUCH TRAFFIC ALL THE TIME. There are a lot of things about this place that confuse me.

    The transportation system here in L.A. is not that great and a lot of people keep moving out here.

Leave a Reply

