Emmy Nomination Reactions: Please No More ‘Big Bang’, I Wish I Didn’t Sleep Through ‘True Detective’, One Day Jon Hamm Will Win

Guess who’s back, back again? I apologize for the infrequent nature of my posts, I’ve been super busy in both good ways and bad (but that’s a post for another time). Right now I am here to talk about one of my favorite topics: award shows. The Emmy nominations were announced this morning and I can honestly say I have been waiting to for this list for a long time. I am more excited about this award show than I ever have been, maybe because I live in California now and I see those “For Your Consideration” advertisements EVERYWHERE (which I actually really enjoy). Or maybe it is because TV has just been SO GOOD lately and I have been indulging in my fair share…while still managing to never have seen even one episode of Breaking Bad. While it is said every year, I really think this year is has some of the best actors competing in some of the best roles representing some of the best shows.

Show without further ado…here are the nominees.

Best Drama Series
Breaking Bad- “Wow I’m so surprised the final season of BB was nominated” said no one ever
Downton Abbey- Kind of surprised to see this show still getting nominations when it is nowhere near as good as it used to be
Game of Thrones- Again, no surprises here
House of Cards- Netflix FTW
Mad MenYAY
True Detective- I probably should’ve given this show another chance, but I kept falling asleep during the first episode 

*The only thing that could really give BB a run for its money is the super successful and critically loved True Detective. Other things these two shows have in common? Everyone watches them and I don’t.

Best Comedy Series
The Big Bang Theory- I DON’T UNDERSTAND WHY THIS SHOW IS ALWAYS NOMINATED FOR THINGS, GIVE OTHER SHOWS A CHANCE
Louie
Modern Family- I just started getting into MF/appreciating how funny it really is
Orange is the New Black- More (well deserved) loved for Netflix 
Silicon Valley- On my ever growing ‘to watch’ list
Veep

*I wish I watched the final 2 shows on this list, I hear they’re really funny. Also, I’m surprised to see Brooklyn Nine-Nine  not nominated since they did win a Golden Globe after all

Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
Jeff Daniels, The Newsroom- I forgot this show was still on
Jon Hamm, Mad Men- One of these days Hamm will win for playing Don Draper, this is not that day 
Woody Harrelson, True Detective
Matthew McConaughey, True Detective- The year of McConaughey continues. I’d be shocked if he lost
Kevin Spacey, House of Cards- As good as Spacey is this season he was overshadowed by Robin Wright

*Interesting Harrelson and McConney are against each other for the same show, but I guess there is no way around that

Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Lizzy Caplan, Masters of Sex-YES. 
Claire Danes, Homeland- I get it, Danes is good, but I think Homeland‘s time has passed
Michelle Dockery, Downton Abbey- Lady Mary spent 90% of the season moping and the rest of the time flirting so I’m not sure how she managed this nom
Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife
Kerry Washington, Scandal
Robin Wright, House of Cards- Well deserved nom, she killed it this season especially with that CNN interview episode

*I would be ecstatic for a Wright or Caplan win. Both play such different, but equally powerful characters.

Update: just realized Elisabeth Moss wasn’t nominated for Mad Men and now I’m a little sad. Although she did spend a lot of time last season being mad at other characters for seemingly no reason.

Lead Actor, Comedy
Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory
Ricky Gervais, Derek
Matt LeBlanc, Episodes
Don Cheadle, House of Lies
Louis C.K., Louie
William H. Macy, Shameless

*I’m sick of Jim Parsons always winning this category, but I don’t know who in this group is funny enough to take the throne away from him.

Lead Actress, Comedy
Lena Dunham, Girls
Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie
Julia Louis Dreyfus, Veep
Melissa McCarthy, Mike & Molly- You go girl. Show people you can do better than Tammy
Amy Poehler, Parks & Recreation- I really need to start watching this show
Taylor Schilling, Orange Is the New Black- She’s good, but not in what I would consider a comedic sense

Lead Actor In A Miniseries Or A Movie
Benedict Cumberbatch, Sherlock: His Last Vow- Such a great episode in what really was a perfect season 
Chiwetel Ejiofor, Dancing on the Edge
Martin Freeman, Fargo– I love how great Freeman is as the bumbling man trying to reclaim his life. Also, his midwest accent is spot on 
Billy Bob Thornton, Fargo- Since they didn’t consider True Detective a miniseries this is Thornton’s to lose. I keep calling him Daniel Day-Lewis in my head when I think of this role THAT’S HOW GOOD HE IS
Idris Elba, Luther
Mark Ruffalo, The Normal Heart

*Haha Sherlock and Watson are up against each other in this category. Which table will Martin sit at?

Outstanding Reality-Competition Series
The Amazing Race
Dancing with the Stars
Project Runway
So You Think You Can Dance
Top Chef
The Voice

*I’d be pretty happy to see any of these shows win, it’s a good bunch. Although I do favor Top Chef. 

Outstanding Variety Series
The Colbert Report
The Daily Show with Jon Stewart
Jimmy Kimmel Live
Real Time with Bill Maher
Saturday Night Live
The Tonight Show starring Jimmy Fallon- I would love to see Jimmy win in not even his first year of hosting

Outstanding Miniseries
American Horror Story: Coven
Bonnie & Clyde- Wasn’t this just a movie? Or because it was a two parter they consider it a miniseries?
Fargo- This and only this
Luther
Treme
The White Queen

Outstanding Television Movie
Killing Kennedy
Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight
The Normal Heart- I’ve been meaning to see this movie, it’s a must watch before the Emmys
Sherlock: His Last Vow– I didn’t realize they consider this a movie. It was good, but can it stand up to the more dramatic ones on here?
The Trip to Bountiful

Supporting Actor, Drama
Aaron Paul, Breaking Bad- Yeah bitch! (That’s literally the only thing I know about this show. That and meth)
Jim Carter, Downton Abbey- Awh good ole Carson. Don’t think he can compete with Dinklage though
Peter Dinklage, Game of Thrones- I feel like it is Dinklage’s year to win again
Josh Charles, The Good Wife
Mandy Patinkin, Homeland– While everyone else floundered this season, Patinkin did some great work, so unlike Danes’ nomination I’m okay with this one
Jon Voight, Ray Donovan

Supporting Actress, Drama
Anna Gunn, Breaking Bad
Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey
Joanne Froggatt, Downton Abbey- She’s one of my favorites on this show and she had a pretty heavy storyline to deal with this season
Lena Headey, Game of Thrones- Still love her as Sarah Connor on the Terminator TV show so I’m happy for her even though I’m not a GoT fan
Christine Baranski, The Good Wife
Christina Hendricks, Mad Men- Hendricks doesn’t get enough love for her work on Mad Men and she deserves it. She’s had some incredibly stirring moments 

Supporting Actor, Comedy
Andre Braugher, Brooklyn Nine-Nine
Adam Driver, Girls
Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Modern Family
Ty Burrell, Modern Family
Fred Armisen, Portlandia

*I don’t have much to say about this category except that I think the guys from Modern Family are pretty funny

Supporting Actress, Comedy
Mayim Bialik, The Big Bang Theory
Julie Bowen, Modern Family- She’s probably my favorite on this show with her deadpan deliveries and mom humor
Allison Janney, Mom
Kate Mulgrew, Orange Is the New Black– Happy to see more love for the OITNB cast, especially the always phenomenal Red
Kate McKinnon, Saturday Night Live- One of the funniest ladies on SNL. Olya Povlatsky is always a ‘Weekend Update’ highlight
Anna Chlumsky, Veep

Supporting Actor, Miniseries or Movie
Colin Hanks, Fargo- You’re making your dad proud with your work on this show, Colin
Jim Parsons, The Normal Heart
Joe Mantello, The Normal Heart
Alfred Molina, The Normal Heart
Matt Bomer, The Normal Heart
Martin Freeman, Sherlock: His Last Vow- Oh Martin, always a bridesmaid and never a bride. You’re so good, but up against stiff competition and even better co-stars 

*Lots of love for the guys of The Normal Heart, but does that mean they’ll cancel each other out?

Supporting Actress, Miniseries or Movie
Frances Conroy, American Horror Story: Coven
Kathy Bates, American Horror Story: Coven
Angela Bassett, American Horror Story: Coven
Allison Tolman, Fargo- She is the best part of what is an amazing show and I would love to see her win especially as a new comer 
Ellen Burstyn, Flowers in the Attic
Julia Roberts, The Normal Heart

*Allison Tolman should be proud to see her name listed alongside the rest of these incredible and long working actresses. Even if she doesn’t win that in itself is an accomplishment.

Guest Actor, Drama
Paul Giamatti, Downton Abbey- I rather enjoyed him as Cora’s rich American brother all the dads were creepily trying to set their daughters up with 
Dylan Baker, The Good Wife
Reg E. Cathey, House of Cards- He had a good story this season, but don’t know if it holds up along some of the others 
Robert Morse, Mad Men
Beau Bridges, Masters of Sex- His side story is probably one of my favorite parts of this show. I love how he plays Scully with a mix of pathos, self loathing, and denial 
Joe Morton, Scandal

Guest Actress, Drama
Margo Martindale, The Americans
Diana Rigg, Game of Thrones
Kate Mara, House of Cards– How’d she manage this nom seeing as…you know…
Allison Janney, Masters of Sex- The best part of the show by far. Margaret Scully’s self discovery and transformation are what make me come back to this show again and again. More than anything I would love to see Janney win 
Jane Fonda, Newsroom- Jane Fonda was on Newsroom??
Kate Burton, Scandal

Guest Actor, Comedy
Bob Newhart, The Big Bang Theory
Nathan Lane, Modern Family
Steve Buscemi, Portlandia
Jimmy Fallon, Saturday Night Live– YES. I literally could not stop laughing for this entire episode. Especially when JT was playing Jimmy and Jimmy couldn’t stop laughing
Louis C.K., Saturday Night Live
Gary Cole, Veep

Guest Actress, Comedy
Natasha Lyonne, Orange Is the New Black-She is my favorite character on this show, so happy to see her nominated 
Uzo Aduba, Orange Is the New Black- If I was Aduba I wouldn’t worry if I lost this year, her performance in season 2 was even better
Laverne Cox, Orange Is the New Black- It’s so hard seeing these three OITNB  actresses nominated against each other because I want them all to win
Tina Fey, Saturday Night Live– I don’t remember watching Tina on SNL this season but I’m sure she was great
Melissa McCarthy, Saturday Night Live
Joan Cusack, Shameless

There are plenty of other nominations including categories like “Outstanding Writing for Nonfiction Programming” (Go Anthony Bourdain and Parts Unknown) and “Outstanding Animated Program” (which reminds me I have to catch up on Archer), but here is where I end. Until the August 25th I will be finishing Fargo and 30 Rock (finally) while continually contemplating what show to start next.

2 thoughts on “Emmy Nomination Reactions: Please No More ‘Big Bang’, I Wish I Didn’t Sleep Through ‘True Detective’, One Day Jon Hamm Will Win

Leave a Reply

