TidBritt: ‘Age of Ultron’ Teaser Trailer or Being Excited About Things

I am sure there will be some point in my life when talk of a comic book film does not excite me. I  just don’t see that happening any time soon. When the trailer for Avengers: Age of Ultron leaked online today I was ecstatic. While I took twitter to express my glee, others bashed “yet another superhero film” full of “generic robots and fight scenes.”

Sure, you are allowed to not like the Marvel films. Do I think they’re cinematic masterpieces? No. (Although I would make a strong case for The Winter Soldier.) Do I dress up and go to the midnight premiere for each one? Absolutely. Why? Because I am an unashamed fangirl. I like getting excited about things and the fact that things have the ability to excite me. Just think: we live in a world with not one, but TWO competing comic book universes BOTH with movies AND television shows (great TV shows by the way). Isn’t it amazing?

All good things end. That’s just the way it works. I am going to continue being excited for the Marvel movies while they still manage to make me squee.

P.S. I’m not going to post the trailer link because it was leaked and you can find it everywhere else online.

4 thoughts on “TidBritt: ‘Age of Ultron’ Teaser Trailer or Being Excited About Things

  1. Peter Thomas Schwartz says:

    The abundance of superhero movies is a good thing, in my opinion. It is forcing studios to make movies with a message, movies with emotion and heartache, movies that not only make you laugh but cry and scream out when one of your favorites is hurt. Instead of getting generic movies (i.e. Green Lantern, Iron Man 2), studios have to make The Dark Knight type movies to compete. That is why The Winter Soldier is so good: it put real everyday threats into a comic book movie. Or Days of Future Past: it creates real stakes that you don’t know if they’ll be resolved until the final moments.
    My belief with Age of Ultron is this: we will get a movie that will throw out everything we know about Marvel movies so far. It will tear down our comfort levels while Ultron tears down our heroes. The comic version of this story was in a dystopian future, but this movie will effect the course of events in the every future MCU movie to come. This movie won’t be like Avengers 1, it won’t be bright and shiny and new and funny and witty and feel good. It will be a on par with The Dark Knight, a thriller that will keep us on the edge of our seats even after the after credits scene plays.

    • Brittany Rene' Rivera says:

      I think that’s what is making people so nervous, they want bright and shiny, they don’t like dark superhero films. I think Joss Whedon is the perfect person to do this because he balences light and dark so well (aka Dr. Horrible and Serenity); he can make us laugh and always knows how to make us cry.
      I am so excited to see whatever direction Marvel is heading especially with the civil war story which I don’t how they are going to do since these Marvel heroes don’t seem to keen on secret identities.

      • Peter Thomas Schwartz says:

        I think how they’ll adapt Civil War to the movies is this: SHIELD is now gone, so Tony Stark creates Ultron (he has the money, he’s funding the Avengers and he doesn’t want to be a superhero anymore since the end of Iron Man 3). Ultron is meant to do what SHIELD and the Avengers do. Ultron goes batshit crazy and we have the catastrophic events of Age of Ultron.

        The US Gov more than likely gets upset that superheroes have this much power and are privately funded by one of their own, so they push to pass the Registration Act so that they can control the superheroes. Tony Stark agrees with this because he holds himself responsible for what happened with Ultron. Captain America disagrees because of beliefs similar to those from Winter Soldier: theres a thin line between good and evil and who is to say which is which, i.e. the gov could make superheroes kill innocent people because they seem like a “threat”.

        This leads to the rest of Phase Three, where actual “secret identity” superheroes will come about (Doctor Strange, Ant Man, Black Panther, Ms. Marvel). Sides are taken, and my guess is Avengers three is some sort of fight? I don’t know, but nobody is getting along until Avengers 4, where the GotG come around and are like Hey! Thanos is going to kill you all, get your shit together.

Leave a Reply

