Fangirl Friday- 6/5

I am always excited about trailers. Going to the theater, seeing the trailers before the film is one of my favorite parts. The anticipation that comes with finally seeing what the movie you have only been reading about for months looks like is a powerful thing. This week, many trailers from films I am most eager to see in the fall were released. Needless to say, I am very excited about them all.

1. Everest 

Since reading John Krakauer’s book, Into Thin Air I have become obsessed with Mount Everest. The idea that people would risk their lives and limbs just to say they have climbed the tallest mountain in the world is fascinating to me. Like war (another one of my favorite subjects), it is something that I will never understand, but desperately want to. That is why when I heard about Baltasar Kormákur’s Everest I could hardly contain my excitement. It’s based on the events from Krakauer’s book. Starring Jake Gyllenhaal. And Keira Knightley. And Robin Wright and Michael Kelly (Doug!) and Jason Clarke and Josh Brolin.

The trailer gave me goosebumps from the very beginning and by the end I was already getting teary eyed. I know what happens. I know the story. And that only makes the visuals that much more powerful. This story of survival and bravery and also death in the most dangerous place on earth will be an incredible film to watch, but also one tinged with sadness at the very real lives that were lost and are being lost even to this day. Somehow it feels wrong to say I can’t wait to see this film, but it’s true. These men made the choice to climb the mountain and I will see this film as a tribute to their memory and for all those who are brave enough to dare.

2. The Walk

Another movie I can’t wait to see based on a true story of incredibly brave, but possibly insane people is the film The Walk. At least this one has a happy ending. Everyone knows the story surrounding the events of Philippe Petit and his tightrope walk across the Twin Towers. The reason I am so excited for this film is for the experience. The scale and spectacle of it all. The trailers alone are heart stopping, I can only imagine what this film is going to look like in IMAX 3D.

(Side note: I love JGL, but they couldn’t find a French actor because…?)

3. The Good Dinosaur

It feels like I have been waiting for this film forever. Pixar. Dinosaurs. History rewritten. A Thanksgiving release date. It seems like a match made in movie heaven. And although this is just a teaser, I am already so excited. Pixar films are some of my favorites and I can’t wait for another original story from them. I hoping this film (as well as Inside Out) will be a redemption for the studio after a supremely underwhelming Brave. 

4. The Overnight 

I watched this trailer because someone put it in one of those “Anticipated Movies of the Year” posts and I have to say I’m intrigued. Mostly because Adam Scott. I love that man. I would watch him be awkward slash adorable in anything. Jason Schwartzman looks like he is going to be at his wacky best based on the hat he is wearing alone. Plus the premise of the film is about people who are new to California and enter the world of (from the looks of it) the Very Californian. I can’t wait to watch. 

Honorable Mentions:

  • The Macbeth trailer was very pretty; the imagery reminded me a lot of Game of Thrones. I love Fassy and Marion Cotillard, but I’ve always been more of a Hamlet girl.

Honorable Mentions (Non Trailer Related):

  • A Dunkin’ Donuts is opening 10 minutes from my apartment. In California. Which is a big deal for an East Coast Girl like me. If you need me, I’ll be there all summer with my caramel iced coffee.
Leave a Reply

